Review of KOYA – Japanese restaurant in London, Soho

Sat at the perfect table in front of the kitchen (Greg, my partner in the middle)

Sat at the perfect table in front of the kitchen (Greg, my partner in the middle)

The kitchen on-goings.  Perfect view of the chefs at work in the kitchen.  It's known in Japan for cooks to work in small spaces, making the most of every part of the kitchen possible.  I like this concept since here in the west, there's an emphasis on having big, luxurious kitchens.  But even Jamie Oliver once said on a show that the smallest of kitchens can be just as useful in getting a meal prepared... I remember using a tiny kitchen in a caravan in Norfolk a couple of summers ago; made roast dinner and everything!  Think of Rachel Khoo in "Little kitchen in Paris" for crying out loud!

The kitchen on-goings. Perfect view of the chefs at work in the kitchen. It’s known in Japan for cooks to work in small spaces, making the most of every part of the kitchen possible. I like this concept since here in the west, there’s an emphasis on having big, luxurious kitchens. But even Jamie Oliver once said on a show that the smallest of kitchens can be just as useful in getting a meal prepared… I remember using a tiny kitchen in a caravan in Norfolk a couple of summers ago; made roast dinner and everything! Think of Rachel Khoo in “Little kitchen in Paris” for crying out loud!

Kakuni (braised pork belly with cider) - My second visit and my second time ordering this dish :) I never tried pork belly whilst in Japan but this was fantastic!  In fact, I hope to re-create it myself sometime as it was just right - Soft and tender meat with silky fats from being braised, a sweetness in flavour yet balanced with other flavours of rich, salty and a tangy kick from the wasabi.  It's not even fiddly to eat with chopsticks as I thought when it came, it comes apart perfectly... Oh I'd return now just for this!

Kakuni (braised pork belly with cider) – My second visit and my second time ordering this dish 🙂
I never tried pork belly whilst in Japan but this was fantastic! In fact, I hope to re-create it myself sometime as it was just right – Soft and tender meat with silky fats from being braised, a sweetness in flavour yet balanced with other flavours of rich, salty and a tangy kick from the wasabi. It’s not even fiddly to eat with chopsticks as I thought when it came, it comes apart perfectly… Oh I’d return now just for this!

Teriyaki salmon with sliced turnip and elderflower salad. This was Greg's dish, what a treat.  A salmon that was perfectly cooked into a flaked and tender fish, crispy skin and in perfect sweet and salty teriyaki marinade.  The salad very much represented the seasons too with turnip nicely sliced and pickled, then a touch of elderflower with a few small petals - gorgeously presented and totally Japanese - just perfect.

Sea trout in miso marinade with sliced white turnip and elderflower salad.
This was Greg’s dish, what a treat. A sea trout that was perfectly cooked into a flaked and tender fish, crispy skin and in perfect sweet, salty and tangy marinade. The salad very much represented the seasons too with turnip nicely sliced and pickled, then a touch of elderflower with a few small petals – gorgeously presented and totally Japanese – just perfect.

Saba Atsu-Atsu - Smoked mackerel and green leaves in hot broth with hot udon.  This was Joe's dish (on the left to Greg).   It was a perfect balance again with the slightly strong taste in the mackerel but not overwhelming, in a clear, sweet and refreshing dashi stock, then some greens to bring out more colour and radiance in the dish.  I loved it when Joe said, "It's amazing how much flavour there is here when there is a broth that seems so clear" - makes me realise how wonderful these small details are in appreciating a good meal...

Saba Atsu-Atsu – Smoked mackerel and green leaves in hot broth with hot udon. This was Joe’s dish (on the left to Greg).
It was a perfect balance again with the slightly strong taste in the mackerel but not overwhelming, in a clear, sweet and refreshing dashi stock, then some greens to bring out more colour and radiance in the dish. I loved it when Joe said, “It’s amazing how much flavour there is here when there is a broth that seems so clear” – makes me realise how wonderful these small details are in appreciating a good meal…

Known as the "Big-Mac" of KOYA: Tendon Donburi which is 2 prawns and vegetable tempura on a bowl of rice, served with miso soup. So of course this is my dish :)  I really knew I wanted some donburi which is basically "topped on rice" kind of a dish.  And I knew I fancied tempura so... this was perfect!  The lovely waitress bought it over and told me it was the most popular dish in the restaurant and by the ooo's and aahh's from my friends, it was definitely one pretty dish to look at, and even better to eat. It had a fantastic set of tempura with vegetables: broccoli, sweet potato and courgette (which I'll SO make soon myself) and big juicy prawns!  Then the rice had a sort of sweet and mild sauce like mirin, then nori seaweed cut on top which just bought it all together with it's hint of salty flavour.  I thoroughly enjoyed this.  Not being the biggest of fans of miso soup (I want to change this!),  Greg happily drank that away for me...

Known as the “Big-Mac” of KOYA: Tendon Donburi which is 2 prawns and vegetable tempura on a bowl of rice, served with miso soup.
So of course this is my dish 🙂 I really knew I wanted some donburi which is basically “topped on rice” kind of a dish. And I knew I fancied tempura so… this was perfect! The lovely waitress bought it over and told me it was the most popular dish in the restaurant and by the ooo’s and aahh’s from my friends, it was definitely one pretty dish to look at, and even better to eat.
It had a fantastic set of tempura with vegetables: broccoli, sweet potato and courgette (which I’ll SO make soon myself) and big juicy prawns! Then the rice had a sort of sweet and mild sauce like mirin, then nori seaweed cut on top which just bought it all together with it’s hint of salty flavour. I thoroughly enjoyed this. Not being the biggest of fans of miso soup (I want to change this!), Greg happily drank that away for me…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.